Wednesday, January 27, 2010

The Keyboard is Mightier Than the Sword

If you can't join us at the hearings tomorrow morning, the next best thing you can do is to take 15 minutes today to write emails to legislators.

There are 9 committee members in the House of Representatives “hearing” HB2912 at 8am tomorrow morning, and 7 committee members hearing SB6661 in the Senate at 10am tomorrow. These 16 people will determine whether the bills get passed on to the next step toward making funding for 4Culture a law. Can you draft a super short email and individually send it to some or all of these legislators asking them to support their respective bills?

Here are the emails for the legislators “hearing” these bills tomorrow. Their last name is followed by their first.

HOUSE Finance Committee - HB2912
Hunter.Ross@leg.wa.gov (*sponsor of HB2912)
Hasegawa.Bob@leg.wa.gov
Orcutt.Ed@leg.wa.gov
Parker.Kevin@leg.wa.gov
Condotta.Cary@leg.wa.gov
Conway.Steve@leg.wa.gov
Ericks.Mark@leg.wa.gov (*sponsor of HB2912)
Santos.Sharon@leg.wa.gov
Springer.Larry@leg.wa.gov
*Thank this legislator for sponsoring bills that support arts and heritage in King County!

SENATE Economic Development, Trade & Innovation Committee - SB6661
Kastama.Jim@leg.wa.gov
Shin.Paul@leg.wa.gov
Zarelli.Joseph@leg.wa.gov
Delvin.Jerome@leg.wa.gov
Eide.Tracey@leg.wa.gov (*sponsor of SB6661)
Kilmer.Derek@leg.wa.gov
McCaslin.Bob@leg.wa.gov
*Thank this legislator for sponsoring bills that support arts and heritage in King County!


TIPS FOR YOUR EMAIL:

When you write, be brief and be sure to reference specific bill numbers. Here are some things to include in your email:

· Begin your letter formally with “Dear Senator [last name] or “Dear Representative [last name]

· Say that you are a resident of King County and that the arts and heritage funding through 4Culture is important to you.

· Ask the Senate committee members to please support SB 6661 that includes funding for the arts and heritage program in King County. Ask the House committee members to please support HB2912 that includes funding for the arts and heritage program in King County.

· Thank them for their work and if they have a star by their name below, be sure to thank them for being a sponsor for the bill (this means they have already said they support the bill)

· Add a short personal statement about how the arts and/or heritage or specifically 4Culture’s programs are valuable for you personally, your business, your employees, your neighborhood, your children, your quality of life, or your organization.



Thanks for your help!

No comments:

Post a Comment